Honey Beer Bread

honey-beer-bread-recipe-1-1

Here’s the link to the recipe, from Gimme Some Oven.

This was my first year making a Thanksgiving meal (up til now, I’ve only ever helped or made a certain dish or dessert), and at the last minute I was looking for a good bread recipe that I could make with ingredients on hand. So I turned to Pinterest, like you do, and found this recipe.

I’ve made bread with beer before, and enjoyed it, so I had high hopes for this bread. I definitely wasn’t disappointed. Not only is this bread easy to make, but it’s also a really nice combination of flavors. It’s nice and bready from the beer, buttery from the melted butter used, and slightly sweet from the honey. It’s also a really moist and dense bread, which I appreciated. It didn’t need any butter or spread of any kind. It’s good all on its own.

This is one of those mix-it-all-up-and-bake type recipes that’s really simple to whip up. The weirdest part of the recipe is the fact that it calls for you to not only grease the pan with melted butter, but also pour some over the batter before baking. I was a little skeptical about this, since I’m used to putting butter on bread after it’s been baked rather than before. But it really turned out good. The melted butter essentially just gives the bread more of a buttery crust. I might try using a little bit less melted butter next time, but it definitely wasn’t the worst thing ever.

I recommend trying out this recipe. It was good with our Thanksgiving meal, but I’m sure it would be great with soup too. If you do try it, let me know in the comments how it worked out.

Happy baking!

Alyss

(photo courtesy of Gimme Some Oven, at the link above)

Leave a Reply

