Changing your style

I think this is something that most people do throughout their lives, since different parts of our lives require different clothing and wardrobes. For myself personally, I know that I’ve changed my style several times throughout my life. I had the obligatory style changes throughout my adolescence, where I was intermittently trying to dress like everyone else and trying to find my own style. It made for some interesting outfits in pictures of me throughout my childhood.

Around late high school and college, I settled into the style I’ve had since then, which includes a lot of sweaters, skinny jeans, skirts, dresses, and tights. It’s hard to describe in a sentence, but think librarian (and this was before I even started working in a library!) meets hipster on tumblr. In college especially, I dabbled in high heels, but those were never for me.

More recently, I feel like I’ve been leaning much more casually, mostly because libraries are usually pretty casual places to work. So sometimes I just feel weird wearing dresses and high heels when no one else does. Not that it would stop me if I really wanted to, but lately I just haven’t wanted to.

My most recent clothing purchases have confirmed my commitment to a more casual style. I’ve bought a lot of leggings and loose, comfy sweaters. Maybe it’s not a huge change, but it definitely feels like a shift for someone who used to wear more skirts than pants. During this process, I’ve also gotten rid of a lot of old clothes that I never wear. So I guess there’s no going back now.

Have you ever had this kind of shift in style as an adult? What made you want to do it? Let me know in the comments.

Alyss

Leave a Reply

