Gingerbread cookies


Lara’s tender gingersnaps recipe from Taste of Home

Gingerbread is one of my favorite winter flavors, and always makes it feel a little bit more like Christmas, in my opinion. So I’ve been meaning to bake some kind of gingerbread for a while now, and finally got around to it. I decided to go with gingerbread cookies and found the recipe linked above on Pinterest. I chose it mostly because I already had all of the ingredients on hand, but it ended up turning out really well.

These are definitely softer gingerbread cookies rather than the crunchier kind you might decorate, but I prefer that. So did everyone else who tried them. I brought some to work, and even received comments that these were the best gingerbread cookies that people had ever had. While that’s incredibly flattering, I think it might be more due to the over-abundance of dry and crunchy gingerbread cookies out there. But I’m still glad that everyone enjoyed them.

I should also add that the recipe calls for the mixed dough to be chilled for a couple of hours before baking, but I didn’t have time, so I didn’t chill it. I think they still came out very good. I never really know what the purpose of chilling cookie dough is, and as a rule I tend not to chill my dough. I’ve never had any cookies that have come out bad due to lack of chilled dough, but maybe I’m missing out on even better cookies. Please enlighten me, if anyone knows why some recipes call for chilled cookie dough, and if it really makes a difference.

Whether you want to wait that long for cookies or not (I never do), I definitely recommend trying out this recipe. It’s pretty quick and easy, and makes for some damn good gingerbread cookies.

Happy baking!

Alyss

(Photo courtesy of Taste of Home)

One thought on “Gingerbread cookies

Leave a Reply

