All the baking!

I’m visiting family for the New Year, so of course, we’re having a lot of different family gatherings. And because I’m one of the designated bakers in the family, I’ve been baking a lot. I made the gingerbread cookies that I’ve posted about a couple weeks ago (here’s a link to that post), and then gave my grandma the recipe because they were so well received. I also made two different kind of cupcakes, although those were from box mixes, so there’s really nothing much to say about those.

Today, I made sour cream pound cake, because we’re having another gathering which includes dinner out and dessert at home afterward. This pound cake recipe is from a book I bought awhile ago, called All Cakes Considered.

6729269

(photo courtesy of Goodreads)

It’s seriously one of the best cookbooks I’ve ever used, because the recipes are very detailed and helpful if you’re a new baker, or are just hoping to improve your baking technique. It’s also mostly cake recipes, so there’s a lot of variety for everyone’s particular tastes.

This pound cake recipe is especially good. It’s technically sour cream pound cake, but the flavor is so nice and citrus-y, because it has both lemon and orange extracts in it. And the texture is thick and dense, yet fluffy at the same time. If you know anything about good pound cake, you’ll know what I mean, and this one is the best I’ve ever had.

However, it’s definitely a lot of work, and I feel like people should go into baking aware of what they’re getting themselves into. There aren’t a ton of ingredients, but the batter requires a lot of mixing and adding each ingredient slowly in portions. I should also mention that this is the first recipe in the book, so it goes into a lot of detail about exactly how to make this cake right. So you’ll spend a lot of time mixing, especially if you don’t have a stand mixer. I have one at home, which makes things a bit easier (though you still can’t cut corners on mixing if you want the pound cake to come out right). But the problem this time is that my mother doesn’t have a stand mixer, so I had to use her hand-held mixer, which is really hard work for thick pound cake batter. And did I mention that it takes an hour and a half to bake? This cake is definitely an all afternoon endeavor, but it is so worth it, especially with some strawberries on top.

It all turned out good, and there was even enough batter left over to make a loaf to keep for ourselves. Which was a good thing, since it was completely devoured! Also, my grandma (who loves pound cake) asked for the recipe, so that’s always flattering.

This book is really worth the investment if you love baking. It includes great recipes, pictures, helpful instructions, and the funniest baking insights throughout.

Happy baking!

Alyss

Leave a Reply

