Vacation book haul

It wouldn’t be a complete vacation if I didn’t do a little book shopping. I did plenty of clothes shopping over the week, but yesterday I finally got to go out and do a little book shopping as well. My husband actually went with me, which he hardly ever does, since I tend to linger in bookstores. But we had fun, and we both bought a couple things.

Here’s what I bought:

Scythe by Neal Shusterman

28954189

I’d heard about this book before, and when I saw it I decided to pick it up. It’s about a society that has conquered disease and death, so they only reason people die is to keep the population under control. This is what Scythes do, and the story follows two apprentice Scythes as they’re learning the trade. This seems like an interesting take on the dystopian novel, and I’m looking forward to reading it.

The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer

31176886

Okay, so I was totally one of those teenagers who read the Twilight series and The Host. I’m not saying they’re the best books every written (though I think The Host is a lot better than the Twilight series), but I’m the kind of person who appreciates reading books that aren’t necessarily good. All reading gives me perspective, and makes me a little bit less pretentious, I hope.

But I did look through this book while I was cataloging it at the library, and it did look interesting. This book follows a former government agent who’s on the run from her former employers. I don’t usually go for this kind of book, but the description reminds me of another series that I read and liked in the past (the first book in the series is called Exit Strategy, and it’s by Kelley Armstrong, if anyone is interested). I also happened to catch it when it was on sale, which always helps sway the decision to pick it up.

Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded by Hannah Hart

28217831

This book has been on my list for a little while, since I’m a fan of Youtube and follow quite a few creators. I’ve been excited to see that quite a few Youtubers have come out with books recently, Hannah Hart being one of them. It seems like Youtube creators are coming more into the mainstream of creative content, and it’s nice to see them being recognized for their hard work and skills. I also really enjoy memoirs, so this book checked a lot of my interest boxes, and I’m really looking forward to reading it.

I can’t remember the last time I went out and bought multiple books, so I really enjoyed this outing with my husband. It was a great addition to a really nice vacation.

Happy reading!

Alyss

Leave a Reply

