I’m doing a thing…

So, my family has all sorts of health issues, particularly related to digestion. One of my uncles has Crohn’s disease, one of my aunts has issues with her liver, my grandma has a bunch of food allergies and follows a really strict diet. And almost everyone else, myself included, has general issues with digestion and eating food.

It’s been bothering me in recent years as I’ve gotten a little bit older, and I’ve decided that I really need to work on my diet. Obviously, eating healthy is always the goal, but I’m hoping that if I make a lot of changes I’ll feel better in general.

The thing is though, I’m not the kind of person who’s into fad diets and juice cleanses and that kind of thing. I don’t want to be unrealistic and I want to make some lasting changes in order to be more healthy. So I looked into some options, and found one that I liked the look of.

It’s called Whole 30, and it’s a plan that details a complete diet change that takes place over 30 days. And the idea is that if you change you diet, and cut out certain foods (like grains, dairy, beans and legumes, and added sugar) that might be affecting you, then you can change your relationship with food. After the 30 days are over, you reintroduce those foods to see if they are acceptable foods for you or not. This part of the plan is something that really interested me, because I’m really hoping to get a better idea of what foods I should and shouldn’t be eating.

The whole thing seems a little bit extreme at first, but I like the idea that it’s not something you’re meant to do forever. But hopefully, after challenging yourself for a month, you can make some dietary changes. I really think this is something I need, and I’m hoping it works out.

I’m planning on starting today as this is posted, and I’m going to post updates on this as I go through it. I don’t know if it will be every day, but maybe every couple of days (every week at least). I’ll hopefully post some recipes that I try as well. Please let me know if this is something you’re interested in hearing about.

Wish me luck!

Alyss

One thought on “I’m doing a thing…

Leave a Reply

