Well, it’s already not going great…

So, the other day, I posted about Whole 30, and how I was going to start trying to follow it in order to get healthier and feel better. I’ve been doing it for all of two days, and it’s not going very well. Here are the reasons why I think this is:

–I forgot that my work holiday party is this Saturday, and there’s no way that I’m going to stick to anything at this party.

–I’m hungry all the time. This is causing me the most trouble, for multiple reasons.

First of all, I’m not really a breakfast person. I had been eating a little bit of oatmeal or a granola bar, but because grains are off limits, I can’t do either of those. I did find some fruit and nut bars that I can eat, but they’re small and don’t really tide me over until lunch. And there’s no way I’m going to be able to eat meat and eggs for breakfast (as the sample meal plan suggests). The best option I’ve considered is making a fruit smoothie for breakfast, which is technically allowed as far as ingredients go, but there’s also a rule against drinking fruit (this confuses me a little bit).

Second of all, I’ve been used to eating a certain portion size based on the number of calories the food contained. However, when you’re suddenly eating a lot more vegetables and a lot fewer carbs, that portion to calories ratio is very different. So I’ve been eating a less, without thinking about it, and I really feel it in my hunger level. I’ve been wanting to snack constantly, which is also discouraged.

–I want to eat all the things! This is mostly an issue of self control than anything else, and I’ll admit I was most worried about this before starting. And it’s just as bad I thought it would be. I think the things I’ve missed the most are grain-type things.

–My husband isn’t doing Whole 30 with me. Which is fine. I wouldn’t want to force him into it, and he’s still kind enough to try out some of the recipes. But he’s still eating whatever he wants, and it makes it really hard to be strict with myself and not eat what he’s eating or go out with him.

So, with all of those problems in mind, I don’t think I want to stop doing this. But I may have to adapt things slightly. Obviously, I’m going to stick with the smoothie-breakfast thing, because I need an option that works for me. I’m also considering adding certain grains back in, like rice and corn, just so that I can have a slightly more flexible diet.

I really want to continue in the spirit of Whole 30, even if I don’t follow it strictly, because I still want to feel better and get healthier. I’m just starting to realize that I might not need to be quite so strict in order to reap the benefits. Of course, I’m still going to pay attention to how my diet is affecting me, and  I can always get stricter in the future if I feel like I need to.

More updates to come, as well as a recipe that I’ve found.

Alyss

One thought on “Well, it’s already not going great…

Leave a Reply

