All the Harry Potter themed baking!

Yesterday, I went to a work party, so of course, I had to bake a little something. By a little something, I mean pudding pie and cookies. And because we had decided that our party was Harry Potter themed (we’re librarians, we do nerdy things like this), I decided to make butterbeer pie and butterbeer cookies.

butterbeer-pudding-cookies2-900x1350

The cookies I had made before, and I used this recipe. I had made these before, and they turned out great like always. They have pudding mix in them, which always makes for really soft, chewy cookies. But overall, they might just be the best cookies ever. Everyone I’ve made them for has loved them. I like that this recipe also has tips at the end of the post to alter the recipe. One of these is a tip for not chilling the dough before baking, which is something I always do (because who has the time to chill dough?).

gallery-1479423529-delish-butterbeer-pie-pinterest-002

The second thing I made was butterbeer pie, using this recipe. This was something I had never made before, but I was pretty pleased with how it came out. It’s essentially pudding pie with whipped cream mixed in, so the filling is really light and fluffy. When I was mixing it, I was worried that it wouldn’t hold it’s shape, since it was so light. But I chilled it for probably a bit longer than it says to in the recipe, and it worked better than I expected. It was still a little hard to cut, but it at least didn’t melt all over the place the way I expected.

I should also note that I decided to use graham cracker crust instead of regular pie crust, because I like pudding pie with graham cracker crust better. Since the pie really ends up being just a mound of filling and crust on your plate, graham cracker crust mixes in a little bit better, in my opinion.

One last thing I’ll mention is that I wasn’t blown away by the whipped cream. The recipe includes instructions for making marshmallow whipped cream to top the pie with. It’s essentially just whipped cream with marshmallow fluff mixed in. But I had trouble getting the fluff to mix into the cream. The way it says to do it is to whip the cream first, and then fold the marshmallow fluff in, but marshmallow fluff is kind of hard to mix into something that’s cold. And I didn’t want to over mix, and take all the air out of the whipped cream, but it seemed like it was more chunks of fluff in the whipped cream, rather than a smooth marshmallow whipped cream. Not that it wasn’t still tasty, but I don’t know how marshmallowy is was.

If you try these recipes, I’d love to know how they turned out. Or if you know of any other good Harry Potter themed recipes.

Happy baking!

Alyss

(photos courtesy of recipe links)

Leave a Reply

